01264 860348
 
 info@abbotsmitre.co.uk
 
Abbots Mitre

Village Street, Chilbolton, Stockbridge, Hampshire SO20 6BA
  

P M - via Trip Advisor
03/07/16
Stayed in the area in June and went to this pub several times. The staff are friendly, the food is good and reasonable value. Would recommend
Darrenmiddleton2016 - via Trip Advisor
08/06/16
Having moved to the next village a year ago I can say we have tried most in the area, however there's only one place our family & friends always want to return to - The Mitre. Generous always hot fresh home cooked portions, even the salad garnish is plentiful. With a varied menu that changes regular to keep you interested the team take pride and make our visits enjoyable. When a table has a linen napkin you can generally tell you are onto a winner, which follows through to well presented food.
Bobby J - via Trip Advisor
05/06/16
Mains were brilliant and portion sizes were more than enough. Puddings were very well presented and very tasty. Service was spot on too.
LaurellaW - via Trip Advisor
31/05/16
We ate here with family on Friday evening. The menu was great and the food was wonderful. Hot and fresh. Staff are always friendly. Highly recommend.
SBL01 - via Trip Advisor
24/05/16
Been here a few times in the last couple of months... previously the restaurant/food was italian (and very good), so actually when it changed I was a little reticent, but in fact I think it is improved now that it has returned to pub/classics.
This Sunday we had tempura prawns to start.. as a previous reviewer commented they are a good portion.. one to share would have been enough for us.. the tempura prawn starter is very good indeed, and enough to share IMO.
The fish pie was very home made, very well presented, packed with good quality fish and prawns (the seafood supplier clearly knows his prawns!), and very tasty served with fantastic veg nestled on the white sauce... I was quite jealous.
But then my steak burger arrived and I think its the best burger I've had.. just like if you make a burger (with proper, proper mince) at home and give it good care on the barbecue. It was served just as I like it.. a tiny bit pink in the middle but with a nice caramelised crust on the outside.
Kenneth S - via Trip Advisor
24/10/15
Visited with friends. Warm welcome, beer on top form, food was more than good pub menu. Really tasty food with the menu providing plenty of variety. Camembert starter with fishcakes main went down very well with the ladies whilst pigeon breast starter and the steak was just the ticket for me. Although Chilbolton is "out in the country", this pub is well worth a vist
Jane N - via Trip Advisor
21/10/15
Three of us had lunch yesterday and it was delicious. One had fish cakes, two had hake on choritso (can't spell it! Spicey tomato mix), really good. Sat by the log fire which is nicely warm without overheating. Staff are very friendly and unobtrusive. Service fast enough to know food was cooked well without waiting too long.
Only downside I was too full for pudding!
Eileen L - via Trip Advisor
19/10/15
Visited with friends whilst staying in the area. Friendly helpful staff and fabulous food. Very good selection, beautifully cooked and presented. Lovely log fire adding to atmosphere.
Andrew037 - via Trip Advisor
14/10/15
Visited after a couple of years' absence, and found the change of ownership had transformed the menu. The atmosphere and service was excellent and very welcoming. We visited with friends and enjoyed tempura prawns and baked Camembert with garlic, followed by fish pie, which was beautifully presented and which one could specify the thickness of the potato topping! Novel and delicious. The menu was extensive and good value. Well worth a visit if in the area; we will go back.
Gerry M - via Trip Advisor
04/10/15
Immaculate traditional pub with wonderful high quality food worth visiting. Service great. We know the area well but have not been to the village before but would go again.
Eborviking - via Trip Advisor
30/09/15
Visited for lunch after walking the dog. Sat outside in the sunshine (although dogs are permitted in the bar). Service very friendly and unfussy. Our meals were delicious abs we have come to expect from this very well run establishment.
Myanmar2000 - via Trip Advisor
22/09/15
This pub is very popular and has a large dining room and interesting decor. There is a good sized free parking area. I visited for lunch, and had excellent service from the friendly and helpful waitress. The menu is great, made it hard to choose. My meal of salmon and haddock and salad was very nice.
HampshireTripper - via Trip Advisor
21/09/15
We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions since it re-opened last year and I must say that every aspect of its operation has reached such a high standard that others would find difficult to beat. Our latest visit was for Sunday lunch yesterday and all 4 people in our party agreed that the whole meal was the best we have ever tasted in a restaurant. As a shared appetiser, we started with a bowl of mixed olives and a portion of superb warm bread with a very tasty olive oil dip. Lovely!! Three of us had the roast beef and one had roast chicken accompanied by roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and a great selection of mixed vegetables. The high quality beef was served pink, as it should be, and the chicken was very succulent. Excellent!! As usual, but not really needing it, we were all tempted to have one of the delicious sweets. Two went for the chocolate brownies, one had creme brulee and I opted for the raspberry Bakewell tart - all were superb!! The service from a very professional staff is speedy and relaxed and the overall atmosphere makes this establishment the best restauran in this part of Hampshire and it is one that I will continue to visit.
HantsMum67 - via Trip Advisor
29/08/15
This return visit to the Abbots Mitre found us eating with a large (pre-booked) group. We had not pre-ordered but the food was prepared promptly and was excellent. Special dietary requirements within the group were catered for with no fuss. Looking forward to our next visit.
Jez C - via Trip Advisor
29/08/15
Rarely go out to eat as a family, but really wanted my parents to try the food for my belated birthday. Service was amazingly quick and efficient... Not going to bore you with how good everything was... Please look at the pictures! And I'm not photographer!! They even brought out a surprise scoop of ice cream with candles it!!
DebsCampbell3213 - via Trip Advisor
27/08/15
Refined pub food at very reasonable prices - a rarity. Exactly what we want to see when we eat at a good pub close to home and where we don't mind paying that little extra. Quality produce but you could see immediately upon presentation of the food that a lot of effort and care went into the preparation, cooking and presentation of every dish. Service was exceptional, attentive. If 10 stars were an option, these guys would get it! Loyal customer created! We'll be back. With family and friends too!
JN Hampshire - via Trip Advisor
27/08/15
We visited last Sunday for lunch having checked that dogs were welcome. We took our dog and sat in the bar and were served very quickly by the attentive and friendly staff who even bought over some dog biscuits (for the dog, obviously - we wanted something else to eat).

The menu is simple but has a lot of options, and there was specials on offer too. Even though the restaurant was very busy, the service was quick and the food great! The Steak burger was delicious, and you have to try the waffles for desert.

I saw a review which likened the bar to something out of the Wild West, and it just needed sand on the floor. That is pure rubbish, its decorated brilliantly and has a good atmosphere.

All in all, this is a great village pub / restaurant that is extremely welcoming, with fantastic food, decent prices and staff that obviously care. We will be returning again.
Friaryally24 - via Trip Advisor
24/08/15
Lovely choice of delicious and inventive food, well presented and delivered with smiles. Nice outdoor seating, looking forward to the suggested circular walk and another visit very soon!
Serena L - via Trip Advisor
15/08/15
Hubbie and I have been driving back and forth from church Crookham to Dorset for 17 years mow kids older we stop at Silver Plough on occasion. Have meant to turn off at Chilbolton many times..
Over shot today and drove back today..13 miles detour glad we did. Peaceful and delightful village great welcome. My cod was of fine quality prepared with care and cloaked in a velvety sauce samphire baby broad beans and more...heaven. We shall return.
Mattp_uk - via Trip Advisor
14/08/15
Haven't been back here for a number of years after an ok experience before. However it was great this time. Must be a new team, food was quick and fret tasting, some good options on the menu to try out. Would go back and would recommend this local pub.
Jon M - via Trip Advisor
13/08/15
The village is a bit away from main roads, but it's worth making the detour. Nice, traditional pub ambience and good quality, tasty food at inexpensive prices (in comparison with the rather pricey pubs in nearby Stockbridge, for example). It was about a quarter full on a quiet Monday lunch time, which seemed a good sign.
Natalie P - via Trip Advisor
13/08/15
We popped on Friday eve on the off chance there was a table for two available. The bar was busy but we were quickly greater, and shown through to the restaurant once we had been given our drinks.

The menu was good, and the food was delicious and well presented.

The staff were attentive and we received service with a smile.

We will return again on another rare child free evening!